India hockey team
India last won the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in 2010 Getty

India take on Australia in a play off for the 1st-2nd position in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016 at Ipoh, Malaysia, on 16 April (Saturday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 1.45pm BST/6.15pm IST. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK. In India, live coverage is available on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3. It can be viewed via live stream on StarSports.


India take on Australia in the final of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016 on 16 April (Saturday). The Men in Blue booked their place in the final after thrashing Malaysia 6-1 in their final group game to finish ahead of defending champions New Zealand on the points table.

In what was an inspiring team performance, goals from SV Sunil, Harjeet Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Talwinder Singh and a brace from Ramandeep Singh helped India clinch the second spot with 12 points from six games, just one point ahead of the Kiwis who had 11 points.

India have won the Sultan Azlan Shah cup five times, with their last triumph coming in 2010.

australia hockey team
Australia are the favourites to win the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016 title Getty

With a perfect record in the round-robin stage, Australia have looked the best team in the tournament, playing with such verve that no team has looked like beating them. The only undefeated team in the tournament, they thrashed Canada 3-0 in their last game and are favourites to win the title.

While there are no obvious chinks in their armoury, the team should ensure that they do not get too over-confident as India's offensive play might hurt them. Australia have won the cup eight times, with their last triumph coming in 2014.

Team news


Goalkeepers: Harjot Singh, Akash Anil Chikte

Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Jasjit Singh Kular, Kothajit Singh, Surender Singh, Harmanpreet Singh

Midfielders: Danish Mujtaba, Chinglensena Singh, Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh (C), SK Uthappa, Harjeet Singh

Forwards: Talwinder Singh, Mandeep Singh, SV Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah.


Goalkeepers: Andrew Charter, Tyler Lovell

Defenders: Chris Ciriello, Mark Knowles, Tim Deavin, Fergus Kavanagh, Matthew Dawson, Andrew Philpott, Josh Beltz

Midfielders: Simon Orchard, Eddie Ockenden (C), Tristan White, Aran Zalewski, Kiel Brown

Forwards: Jamie Dwyer, Glenn Turner, Jake Whetton, Kieran Grovers, Jeremy Hayward, Trent Mitton, Tom Craig, Dylan Wotherspoon, Blake Govers.