India hockey team
India beat Pakistan 5-1 in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016 Getty

India take on New Zealand in what is a top of the table encounter at the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2016 at Ipoh, Malaysia, on 13 April (Wednesday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9.05am BST/1.35pm IST. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK. In India live coverage is available on Star Sports 1and Star Sports 3. It can be viewed via live stream on


In what has been a tournament of surprises, India will look to continue their good form as they take on New Zealand in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup on 13 April (Wednesday). The Men In Blue come into this game on the back of a 5-1 thrashing of Pakistan in what was their biggest win over their arch-rivals in six years.

Manpreet Singh, SV Sunil and Talwinder Singh got on the scoresheet in their biggest win over Pakistan since their 7-4 triumph in the 2010 Commonwealth Games in New Delhi. This victory helped India move to second place in the points table with nine points from four games. The onus on Sardar Singh's men will be to maintain their focus and intensity throughout the tournament.

new zealand hockey team
New Zealand are the current title holders of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Getty

Their opponents, New Zealand, on the other hand come into this game on the back of a 1-0 defeat at the hands of their Oceania rivals Australia, which lead them to drop to third place in the table. The defending champions are on eight points from five games played and will need to improve their results if they want to repeat their 2015 triumph.

Team news


Goalkeepers: Harjot Singh, Akash Anil Chikte

Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Jasjit Singh Kular, Kothajit Singh, Surender Singh, Harmanpreet Singh

Midfielders: Danish Mujtaba, Chinglensena Singh, Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh (C), SK Uthappa, Harjeet Singh

Forwards: Talwinder Singh, Mandeep Singh, SV Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah.

New Zealand

Goalkeepers: Devon Manchester, Kyle Pontifex

Defenders: Cory Bennett, Nick Haig, Kane Russell, Alex Shaw, Brad Shaw, Blair Tarrant

Midfielders: Ryan Archibald, Shea McAleese, George Muir, Arun Panchia, Nick Ross, Nic Woods

Forwards: Marcus Child, Simon Child (C), James Coughlan, Blair Hilton, Hugo Inglis, Stephen Jenness, Shay Neal, Dominic Newman, Jared Panchia, Jacob Smith, Nick Wilson.