Steve Smith
Australian skipper Steve Smith is yet to fire in the Tri-Nation series Getty

Australia take on South Africa in the fourth match of the Tri-Nation series at Warner Park, St Kitts, on 11 June (Saturday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 6pm BST/10.30pm IST. Live coverage of the game is available on Sky Sports 5 and Sky Sports 5 HD in the UK.


All the three nations participating in the tri-series have won one game each. World champions Australia come into this clash on the back of a crushing 47-run defeat to South Africa on 7 June.
Despite restricting their opponents to 189 off their 50 overs, Australia failed to chase the target with their much-vaunted batting line-up failing once again. Opener Aaron Finch played a lone hand scoring 72, more than half of the team's total. The Aussie batsmen, especially skipper Steve Smith and Glenn Maxwell, have struggled so far.

Pace-bowler Mitchell Starc who was rested for the last game is most likely to return in place of Nathan Coulter-Nile, who picked up two wickets in the last game.

The Proteas come into this game on the back of a confident showing against the Australians four days ago. Their bowlers have been brilliant. Both the seamers and spinners have made up for the inadequacies shown by the batsmen.

Skipper AB De Villiers has not yet fired, something of a rarity given his performances of late, while Rilee Rossouw has been ruled out due to a shoulder injury. Dean Elgar has been named as his replacement but if Faf du Plessis is fit he will slot into the side. A win here for either side will ensure that they go to the top of the points table.


South Africa to win

Betting odds (betfair)

  • Australia to win: 4/6
  • South Africa to win: 23/20

Team news


Possible XI: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (c), Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wk), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazelwood, Nathan Lyon.

South Africa

Possible XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Dean Elgar, AB de Villiers (c), JP Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi.