Mushfiquir Rahim and Anamul Haque
Mushfiquir Rahim and Anamul Haque [Reuters]

Bangladesh take on Afghanistan in the fifth match of the Asia Cup One-Day ,International (ODI) tournament at the Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah, Bangladesh on Saturday.

Where to Watch Live

Play is set to begin at 8:00am GMT. Live coverage will be available on Star Life OK. Follow the live text updates of the game on ESPN Cricinfo.


Bangladesh come into the game after suffering a defeat to India in the opening game of the tournament. Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim (117) and wicketkeeper Anamul Haque (77) were the star batsmen for the hosts as the duo's knock helped their team post a total of 279 in 50 overs.

But the Bangladeshi bowlers could not arrest the charge led by Virat Kohli (136) and Ajinkya Rahane (73) as the pair weighed in a partnership of 213 runs for the third wicket. The Indian skipper slammed his 19th ODI century before being dismissed by Rubel Hossain while Rahane walked back to the pavilion after being caught by Imrul Kayes from Sohag Gazi's delivery.

Nevertheless, the hosts failed to prevent the world champions from chasing the 280-run target as their neighbours achieved the target by the end of 49th over.

Playing in their first ever major ODI tournament, Afghanistan began their Asia Cup campaign with a 72-run defeat against Pakistan. Samiullah Shenwari dropped Umar Akmal when he was on 28 and the Pakistani wicket-keeper remained unbeaten to score 102 in the opening innings. Dawlat Zadran, Mirwais Ashraf and Shenwari added two wickets each to their names to restrict their neighbours to 248 in 50 overs.

However, the Afghan batsmen failed to counter the bowling threat of Mohammed Hafeez and Umar Gul as they succumbed for a total of 176. Noor Ali Zadran (44), Asghar Stanikazi (40) and Nawroz Mangal (35) were the highest run-getters in the descending order for Mohammad Shahzad's side as they ran out of wickets in the 48th over giving Pakistan a bonus point along with the win.

Team News


Probable Lineup: Anamul Haque (wk), Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Naeem Islam, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Sohag Gazi, Shafiul Islam, Abdur Razzak, Rubel Hossain


Probable Lineup: Nawroz Mangal, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Asghar Stanikzai, Mohammad Nabi (c), Najibullah Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Hamid Hassan, Samiullah Shenwari, Hamza Hotak, Daulat Zadran