Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka
Kumar Sangakkara [Reuters] Reuters

Bangladesh host Sri Lanka in the final round robin fixture of the Asia Cup 2014 Championship at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Thursday.

Where to Watch Live

Play is set to begin at 8:00am GMT. Live coverage will be available on Star Life OK. Follow the live text updates of the game on ESPN Cricinfo.


Bangladesh have suffered a poor run in this tournament and have lost all their matches so far.

In the previous match, they endured a defeat against Pakistan despite scoring 326 runs in the opening innings. The hosts top order performed exceptionally well with Anamul Haque (100) and Imrul Kayes (59) chipping in a partnership of 150 runs for the first wicket before the latter was dismissed.

The wicketkeeper then combined with Mominul Haque (51) and completed his century prior to his dismissal in the 40<sup>th over. Following Mominul's dismissal with 249 runs on the board, Mushfiqur Rahim (51) and Shakib Al Hasan (44) remained unbeaten to add 77 runs in the remaining 34 balls of their innings.

The defending champions successfully managed to chase the target with one ball to spare despite losing seven wickets. Abdur Razzak took one wicket and was the second costliest bowler for the hosts conceding 72 runs in the nine overs he bowled. Shakib Al Hasan and Mahmudullah too added one wicket each to their names while Mominul nabbed two.

Sri Lanka on the other hand come into this game having sealed their place in the final after the win with a bonus point against Afghanistan in the previous game.

The Lankans had a shaky start with Lahiru Thirimanne (5) walking back the pavilion with just five runs on his account after being bowled by Shapoor Zadran. Kumar Sangakkara slammed 76 runs to help his team stretch past the 150-run mark. Angelo Mathews (45) then remained unbeaten alongside Thisara Perera (19) to help post 253 runs on the board.

Sri Lanka who are yet to lose a single game in this year's competition kept the Afghan batsmen in check and sent all of them packing for just 124 runs. Ajantha Mendis and Thisara took three wickets each conceding only 40 runs in total, while Suranga Lakmal and Chaturanga de Silva nabbed two each.

Lankans top the points table with 13 points from three matches boasting a better Net Run-Rate against Pakistan. The two sides will battle it out to lift the trophy in the final on Saturday.

Team News


Probable Lineup: Anamul Haque (wk), Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Mahmudullah, Shafiul Islam, Abdur Razzak, Al-Amin Hossain

Sri Lanka

Probable Lineup: Kusal Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (c), Thisara Perera, Chaturanga de Silva, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Suranga Lakmal