Justin Ontong
Justin Ontong Getty

The Barbados Tridents will take on the Cape Cobras in the 2014 Champions League T20 Group B clash at Mohali on Friday.

Where to Watch Live

The match starts at 11.30am BST. Live coverage is on British Eurosport 2 and British Eurosport 2 HD. Follow live updates of the match on ESPN Cricinfo. Click here for the live streaming link.


The match between the Barbados Tridents and the Cape Cobras has been billed as the Battle of the Equals. Both the teams are yet to taste victory in the tournament, but the Barbadian outfit has played only one game to the Cobras' two.

Both teams are bereft of any big names, but will depend on their key players to pull them through. Out of the two teams it is crucial for the Cobras to win the game, if they harbour any hopes of staying in the tournament.

The Tridents have impressed with their batting after posting a competitive 174 against KXIP, but their bowling was not good enough to defend it. They do have experienced campaigner Ravi Rampaul, but the West Indian international is lacking form and was expensive at the death against the IPL 7 runners-up.

On the other hand, the Cobras also batted well against the Hobart Hurricanes in their previous match and posted a challenging 184 but their bowling attack failed to deal with Aiden Blizzard and he went on to play a blistering knock of 78 from 48 balls to take the Australian outfit home.

This match is sure to be a great contest with no team willing to give an inch. The team that wins will remain in the competition and have a chance to make the semi-finals.

Betting Odds (888Sport.com)

  • Barbados Tridents to win: 13/10
  • Cape Cobras to win: 3/5

Team News

Barbados Tridents

Squad List: Rayad Emrit (captain), Jonathan Carter, Elton Chigumbura, Shane Dowrich, James Franklin, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Neil McKenzie, Kyle Mayers, Jeevan Mendis, Dilshan Munaweera, Ashley Nurse, William Perkins, Ravi Rampaul, Raymon Reifer.

Cape Cobras

Squad List: Hashim Amla, Justin Kemp, Rory Kleinveldt, Charl Langeveldt, Richard Levi, Aviwe Magijima, Justin Ontong (captain), Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Zakhele Qwabe, Omphile Ramela, Stiaan Van Zyl, Dane Vilas (wicketkeeper), Sybrand Engelbrecht.