Chelsea's Champions League hero Didier Drogba is among the 10 nominees for this year's Golden Foot award to succeed Manchester United veteran Ryan Giggs, who won the honour last year.

The nominees are: Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Iker Casillas (Spain), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Ricardo Kaka (Brazil), Andrea Pirlo (Italy), Carles Puyol (Spain), Raul Gonzalez Blanco (Spain), Clarence Seedorf (Netherlands), Xavi Hernandez (Spain).

The names have been chosen by the Golden Foot jury, comprising 52 journalists representing sports media all over the world, along with event promoter World Champions Club.

The winner will be chosen by football fans, who can cast their votes at until 12:00am (local time) on 12 October.

Reigning Golden Foot winner Giggs has voted for Xavi. "They are all great players but I think Xavi deserves the award," the Golden Foot website quoted the United veteran as saying.

The Golden Foot award is an international award, initiated by the Prince of Monaco in 2003, given to players who stand out for their athletic achievements - both as individuals and team players - and for their personality. The award is only given to active players of at least 29 years of age and can only be won once.

Ten nominees are chosen by a panel of international journalists based on the age criteria and if they are still professionally playing. Out of this list, the winner is selected by an online poll, where everyone can vote. The winner of the award leaves a permanent mould of his footprints on "The Champions Promenade", on the seafront of the Principality of Monaco.

Since 2009, there has been a charity auction accompanying the Golden Foot award event. The auction is held during the gala evening at the Hotel de Paris and raises funds for fighting AIDS.

The Golden Foot award is given under the High Patronage of H S H Prince Albert II and in collaboration with Monaco Tourist and Convention Authority's Convention Bureau. The 2012 prize-giving ceremony will be hosted on October 14 in Monte Carlo.

Past winners are Roberto Baggio (2003), Pavel Nedved (2004), Andriy Shevchenko (2005), Ronaldo (2006), Alessandro Del Piero (2007), Roberto Carlos (2008), Ronaldinho (2009), Francesco Totti (2010) and Ryan Giggs (2011).