Egypt will take on Cameroon in the 2017 African Cup of Nations final (Afcon) at Stade de l'Amitie on Sunday, 5 February.

The Pharaohs sealed a berth in the showcase clash by defeating Burkina Faso on penalties in first semi-final. Mohamed Salah, the former Chelsea winger opened the scoring in the 66<sup>th minute before Aristide Bance equalised six minutes later.

There was no outcome after the extra time, forcing a penalty shootout. Despite missing their first spot-kick, Egypt went on to convert their remaining four efforts to break the hearts of their opponents.

Egypt have won the African Cup of Nations a record seven times and are one win away from cementing their status as the kings of the continent. Hector Cuper's men are the outstanding favourites to win the 31<sup>st edition of the tournament in Gabon.

Cameroon defeated Ghana 2-0 in the second semi-final, as the Black Stars failed to reach a second final in a row. Michael Ngadeu-Ngadjui opened the scoring in the 73<sup>rd minute before Christian Bassogog doubled the lead in the stoppage time in the Indomitable Lions.

The key for Hugo Broos' will be to nullify the threat possessed by Salah - among the players of the tournament - if they are to stand any chance of denying Egypt an eighth African title.

Kick-off is set for 7pm GMT/8pm local time. The 2017 African Cup of Nations will be telecast on Eurosport UK in the United Kingdom. Live streaming of the matches will be available on the Eurosport UK Player for mobile, tablet and desktop users.


  • Egypt to win

Betting Odds (betfair)

  • Egypt to win: 2
  • Draw: 7/4
  • Cameroon to win: 11/5

Team News


Possible XI: Essam El-Hadary, Ahmed Elmohamady, Ahmed Hegazy, Ali Gabr, Ahmed Fathy, Tarek Hamed, Mohammed Elneny, Mohammed Salah, Abdallah Said, Ramadan Sobhi, Mohmoud Hassan.


Possible XI: Fabrice Ondoa, Collins Fai, Adolphe Teikeu, Micheal Ngadeu-Ngadjui, Ambroise Oyongo, Sebastien Siani, Arnaud Djoum, Christian Bassogog, Benjamin Moukandjo, Karl Ekambi, Robert Ndip Tambe.

Below is a list of TV channels that will air the game around the world:

United KingdomEurosport UK
AngolaSuperSport Africa
AustraliabeIN Sports Australia
CameroonSuperSport Africa
CanadabeIN Sports Canada
Central African RepublicCanal +Sport Afrique, SuperSport Africa
CroatiaArena Sport
FrancebeIN Sports
IrelandEurosport UK
ItalyFox Sports
CameroonCanal +Sport Afrique, SuperSport Africa
NetherlandsFox Sports
TurkeyTivibu Spor
SpainEurosport Spain
South AfricaSuperSport
United StatesbeIN Sports USA