Chris Ashton
Ashton scored his first try since February.

England (24) 31

Try: Launchbury, Twelvetrees, Ashton, Morgan; Pens: Farrell; Conversions: Farrell 3, Flood

Argentina (6) 12

Pens: Sanchez 3, Bosch

England produced a fine first half display to blow away Argentina and secure a sixth successive win at Twickenham.

Joe Launchbury's maiden England try, Billy Twelvetrees and Chris Ashton's first score for five tests was part of a blitz in the first 40 minutes as the Argentina defence was torn apart.

Argentina, led by new coach Daniel Hourcade, improved in the second half and closed the deficit through Nicolas Sanchez's penalties but Ben Morgan's late try gave Stuart Lancaster's side a much-needed cushion and confirmed a comprehensive victory ahead of facing New Zealand next week in the climax to the QBE international series.

After kick starting their autumn programme with a tight 20-13 victory over Australia, Lancaster made four changes to his England side for a third meeting with Argentina in 2013.

Injury to Marland Yarde and Christian Wade meant Ben Foden earned a recall on the wing while the entire front row was altered as Joe Marler, Dylan Hartley and David Wilson started as the returning Alex Corbisiero began on the bench.

Following six successive losses including a home series defeat to England and a torrid Rugby Championship campaign, newly installed Argentina coach Hourcade turned to experience in his first match in charge of the Pumas, selecting a starting XV boasting 417 caps and six played based in the English Premiership.

Captain Jean Manuel Leguizamon started at No.8 while the promising Pablo Matera begun at blindside flanker as the visitors aimed to repeat the heroics of their only win against England at Twickenham in 2006.

With England chasing a sixth straight home win they wasted little time getting into the Argentine defence and after Farrell and Sanchez exchanged penalties, the hosts snatched the first try.

Farrell twice kicked to the corner after Argentina infringements and they were rewarded for their early ambition as Launchbury went over for his first international try.

Marcelo Bosch's penalty cut the deficit but England were over again mid-way through the first half after Ashton was adjudged not to have grounded the ball, Twelvetrees smashed through a ragged Argentina defence to score.

And England capped a dominant first half performance with a third try as Farrell fed Ashton who scored his 18th international try and first since February as he slid into the corner.

Amid the introduction of Corbisiero and Danny Care after the break England failed to match their first half performance in the early phase of the second 40 minutes, with a shot of David Beckham on the Twickenham big-screen producing the loudest cheer.

Sanchez converted two penalties to cut England's lead to 12 points with 20 minutes left as the introduction of Martin Landajo at scrum half was providing the Argentine backs with quick ball and the foundation to build.

But Bosch's missed penalty, as the game entered the final 10 mintes, coupled with Morgan's late try ended any hopes of a late Argentina comeback giving Lancaster much encouragement, but also room for improvement ahead of the visit of the All Blacks next Saturday.

England: 15. Mike Brown, 14. Chris Ashton, 13. Joel Tomkins, 12. Billy Twelvetrees, 11. Ben Foden, 10. Owen Farrell, 9. Lee Dickson; 1. Joe Marler, 2. Dylan Hartley, 3. David Wilson, 4. Joe Launchbury, 5. Courtney Lawes, 6. Tom Wood, 7. Chris Robshaw (C), 8. Billy Vunipola

Replacements: 16. Tom Youngs, 17. Alex Corbisiero, 18. Dan Cole, 19. Geoff Parling, 20. Ben Morgan, 21. Danny Care, 22. Toby Flood, 23. Alex Goode

Argentina: 15 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 14 Horacio Agulla, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Tomas Cubelli; 1 Marcos Ayerza 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 3 Maximiliano Bustos, 4 Mariano Galarza, 5 Patricio Albacete, 6 Pablo Matera, 7 Julio Farias Cabello, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon (C)

Replacements: 16. Santiago Iglesias Valdez, 17. Nahuel Lobo, 18. Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19. Manuel Carizza, 20. Benjamin Macome, 21. Martin landajo, 22. Gonzalo Tiesi, 23. Santiago Cordero