Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg
Both Mercedes drivers were comfortably ahead of the rest of the pack

Click here for: Where to watch Race Live

The Suzuka circuit underlined the power of the Mercedes cars as Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg dominated the two practice sessions in commanding fashion.

Where to Watch Live

The third free practice begins at 3am BST on Saturday, while the qualifying session starts at 6am BST. Sky Sports F1 and Sky Sports F1 HD will provide live coverage of both events in the UK.

Real-time Internet updates are available on the Live Timing section of the sport's official website.

Live TV coverage of the qualifying is also available on BBC One and Radio coverage on BBC Radio 5Live.

Practice Review

Lewis Hamilton
Lewis Hamilton optimises his Mercedes performance taking the top spot in FP2 in Japan

Suzuka is among the most demanding circuits on the race calendar and one that many drivers look forward to racing at. The street circuit in Singapore saw teams a little closer to Mercedes in terms of performance, but Japan has shown the true difference between the Constructors Championship leaders and the rest of the grid.

Nico Rosberg topped the time sheets in FP1, with his teammate just behind him, and the roles were reversed for FP 2 when Hamilton took over at the front with the Rosberg right behind. However, the shocking part of the practice sessions, were not the Mercedes drivers topping the time sheets, but the margin by which they did it.

In FP2 Rosberg's time of 1.35.318 in second place was almost a second faster than Valteri Bottas in third. Jenson Button and Sebastian Vettel rounded out the top five, with the two Ferrari's in sixth and seventh.

Top 10 Results of the Second Practice Session at Suzuka Circuit at Japan

1. L Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1'35.078

2. N Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1'35.318

3. V Bottas (FIN) Williams 1'36.279

4. J Button (GBR) McLaren 1'36.409

5. S Vettel (GER) Red Bull 1'36.436

6. K Räikkönen (FIN) Ferrari 1'36.529

7. F Alonso (ESP) Ferrari 1'36.637

8. K Magnussen (DEN) McLaren 1'36.714

9. D Kvyat (RUS) Toro Rosso 1'36.943

10. D Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull 1'37.186