Tillakaratne Dilshan-Mahela Jayawardene
Tillakaratne Dilshan-Mahela Jayawardene Reuters

Sri Lanka won the 2014 T20 World Cup after defeating India by six wickets in the final.

Legends Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene were playing their last game of the shorter format and they finished their T20 career on a high, both playing instrumental roles in Sri Lanka's success.

After Lasith Malinga won the toss and elected to bowl first, India lost Ajinkya Rahane in the second over as he managed only three runs, bowled by the inspirational Angelo Mathews.

India's star batsman Virat Kohli walked to the crease and he, along with Rohit Sharma, kept the scoreboard ticking without taking many risks.

However, Rohit finally fell after he, along with Kohli managed a 60-run partnership. Yuvraj Singh replaced the opener in the 11th over and the left-handed batsman struggled to find any rhythm early in his innings.

Kohli took things into his own hands and started charging Sri Lankan bowlers, taking 16 off the 116th over. But India then lost control of the game, managing only 19 runs of the last four overs. Kohli managed 77, before being run-out off the last ball of the Indian innings.

In reply, Sri Lanka lost their opener Kusal Perera early in their innings. However Sangakkara built steady partnerships with first Tillakaratne Dilshan and then Jayawardene, keeping his team's noses in front.

Sangakkara and Thisara Perera finished the match with three boundaries in the 18th over, sealing a landmark victory for their country.

Sangakkara remained unbeaten till the end on 52, while Perera scored 23 off 17 balls, which included three sixes.