India host New Zealand in the second Test match at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Thursday (30 September). The hosts lead the three-match series 1-0.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 5am BST. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 3 and Sky Sports 3 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


India continued their dominance at home and thrashed the Kiwis by 197 runs in the first Test at Green Park in Kanpur, proving that touring teams have a tough task at hand, especially in sub-continent conditions.

The win was a team effort and a number of players contributed towards it, but spinners R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja's performances were outstanding. Ashwin claimed match-figures of 10/225, in the process becoming the second fastest bowler in history to reach 200 wickets – needing 37 Tests to reach the mark – while Jadeja impressed in the first innings taking 5 wickets after giving away 73 runs.

The track at Eden Gardens is expected to be much the same, aiding turn and bounce which will help spinners. The hosts will be without opening batsman KL Rahul (right hamstring) and Ishant Sharma (chikungunya) and have brought in Gautam Gambhir and uncapped spinner Jayant Yadav as replacements.

R Ashwin India
India spinner R Ashwin became the second fastest bowler in Test history to reach the 200-wicket mark Reuters

Meanwhile, New Zealand gave a good account of themselves in the first innings, but struggled with both bat and ball in the second to hand India the win. Mitchell Santner, Luke Ronchi and skipper Kane Williamson impressed in phases showing that the Kiwis have the talent to give the hosts a tough fight.

What the team management will be looking for is consistency from the team, especially with conditions suiting spinners. Off-spinner Mark Craig has been ruled out of the series due to a side strain, which has led to the recall of Jeetan Patel to the squad while opening batsman Martin Guptill, who has struggled in Tests so far could be given a chance in the second game.


India to win

Betting odds (ladbrokes)

  • India to win: 8/11
  • Draw: 13/10
  • New Zealand to win: 10

Team News


Possible XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav.

New Zealand

Possible XI: Tom Latham, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, BJ Watling (WK), Ish Sodhi, Jeetan Patel, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner.