India host New Zealand in the fifth and final One Day International (ODI) at the ACA-VDCA stadium in Vishakapatnam on Saturday (29 October). The series is leveled 2-2.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9am BST. Live coverage of the game is available in the UK on Sky Sports 3 and Sky Sports 3 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


It was a series that India was expected to win without much trouble owing to their superiority in the bowling and batting departments, along with favoured home conditions.

However, the Kiwis were unwilling to throw in the towel and combined with India's poor batting performance, they levelled the series in the fourth ODI when they restricted India to 241/10 despite posting an assailable score of 260.

It was only in the third ODI that India's batting looked at its best when they chased down 285 with relative ease backed by Virat Kohli's 154 not out. But apart from that their batting has failed them, despite bowlers restricting New Zealand to low totals.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli will have to lead from the front if India are to win the ongoing ODI series against New Zealand tied at 2-2 after four matches Getty

Kohli and Amit Mishra are leading in terms of runs scored and wickets taken thus far respectively, and the duo will need to fire to keep India on course for a series win after they beat the visitors in the Test series.

The Kiwis will also be fired up after they were handed a chance to win the series and are unlikely to submit to the hosts. It is the batting that has let the visitors down so far and Martin Guptill's return to form in the fourth ODI will be a big boost for the visitors.

However, there could be an external factor – cyclone Kyant – that could dampen the crunch clash. Rain is expected over the weekend in many parts of the southern states of Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu, but the Met department is said to have provided encouraging news and expects rains to stay away from the vicinity of the ACA-VDCA stadium.


India to win

Betting odds (betfair)

  • India to win: 4/9
  • New Zealand to win: 7/4

Team news


Possible XI: Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (C&WK), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.

New Zealand

Possible XI: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Luke Ronchi (WK), James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Anton Devcich, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Trent Boult.