Chennai Super Kings face Mumbai Indians in the Qualifier 1 of the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Tuesday. The game will be held at the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi and a victory for either of the sides could see them confirm a place in the finals. While the losing team will have to face the winner of the Eliminator, which will be played between Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad on Wednesday at the same venue.

MS Dhoni

Where to Watch Live

Play starts at 3:30pm BST. Live coverage will be available on ITV 4 and ITV 4 HD. Follow the match live, via text updates, on ESPN Cricinfo.


The Superkings finished the season on top of the IPL table with 22 points from 16 games and are level on points with second place Mumbai, with net run rate separating the two teams. Chennai have been exceptional in the current edition and have made it to the top four in every season, since the beginning of the competition in 2008.

The two time champions enter this game after losing their last encounter in the rain affected tie against Royal Challengers Bangalore. The game was reduced to eight overs as Virat Kohli's side went on to post a huge total of 106 for the loss of two wickets. In reply, MS Dhoni's men failed to chase as the target as they managed 82 in just eight overs, losing six wickets in the process.

Michael Hussey ended his innings cheaply after scoring six runs while Suresh Raina was dismissed even before he could open his account. Opener Murali Vijay managed 32 while their skipper contributed with the bat after scoring 24 runs at the end. Dhoni will be banking on his batsman to fire on Tuesday while hoping the bowlers to restrict Mumbai from keeping the scoreboard ticking.

Meanwhile, Mumbai come into this game after their defeat against Kings XI Punjab last Saturday. Punjab posted a total of 183 after the end of 20 overs while in return Rohit Sharma's men were bowled out for 133, losing the game by 50 runs. Glen Maxwell was dismissed for a duck and he could be replaced by Sachin Tendulkar to open Mumbai's innings during the Qualifier 1.

Sachin Tendulkar

Mumbai's skipper, Ambati Rayadu and all rounder Kieron Pollard all managed to score above 20 against Kings XI, but they failed to get going before being dismissed. Mitchell Johnson could replace his compatriot Nathan Coulter-Nile and is likely to partner Lasith Malinga is Mumbai's pace attack.

The Delhi pitch has a history of favouring the spinners as Harbhajan Singh and Pragyan Ojha will be crucial for Mumbai while Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja will lead Chennai's spin division.

Team Guide

Chennai Super Kings

  • Last Five (most recent first): L W L W L
  • Last Result: Chennai Super Kings lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore by 24 runs

Mumbai Indians

  • Last Five (most recent first): L W W W W
  • Last Result: Mumbai Indians lost to Kings XI Punjab by 50 runs