rashid khan
Rashid Khan's all-round performance helped Afghanistan beat Ireland by 79 runs in the fourth ODI Getty

Ireland host Afghanistan in the fifth and final One Day International (ODI) at the Civil Service Cricket Club, Belfast, on Tuesday (19 July).

Where to watch

Match starts at 10.45am BST. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK.


In what has been an exciting One Day International series, Ireland come into the fifth and final game on the back of a controversial 79-run loss on 17 July. The Afghans now lead the series 2-1. As the first ODI was washed out, this win has ensured that Afghanistan cannot lose the series.

The Irish bowling unit had restricted Afghanistan to 229 off their 50 overs, but it was during the chase that controversy struck. Ireland opener Ed Joyce was given run-out in the sixth over with the southpaw driving the ball over extra cover only to stop running midway, assuming the ball had reached the boundary. The Afghan fielders did not think so, chasing the ball and throwing it to the non-striker's end where bowler Yamin Ahmadzai took off the bails.

With no TV umpire for the game, the umpires asked Afghanistan skipper Asghar Stanikzai to withdraw the appeal but he refused. The incident marred the rest of the game, with the Irish failing to put up a creditable performance, eventually folding up for 150.

Tuesday's game will see the hosts wanting to take revenge, with a lot depending on the experienced Kevin O'Brien, Ed Joyce and skipper William Porterfield.

Afghanistan owed their win to 18-year-old Rashid Khan who put in an all-round performance scoring an unbeaten 60 off 44 balls, giving his maiden ODI 50. He also picked up four wickets for just 21.

Khan, who played in Under-19 World Cup as well as the World T20 earlier this year, benefited from some slack fielding by the Irish, being dropped twice, once when on he was on 17, and then when he was on 34.


Ireland to win

Betting odds (betway)

  • Ireland to win: 10/11
  • Afghanistan to win: 4/6

Team news


Possible XI: William Porterfield (c), Ed Joyce, Sean Terry, Stuart Poytner (wk), Kevin O'Brien, Paul Stirling, Gary Wilson, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Tim Murtagh, Peter Chase


Possible XI: Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Samiullah Shenwari, Asghar Stanikzai (c), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Mirwais Ashraf, Yamin Ahmadzai.