Defending MotoGP champion and Yamaha rider Jorge Lorenzo took pole position for Sunday's Spanish Grand Prix in a crash-filled qualifying session in Jerez.

The 26-year-old produced an impressive performance to finish ahead of compatriots and Honda riders Dani Pedrosa and Marc Marquez, as the three Spaniards locked out the front row on home turf. British star and Tech 3 rider Cal Crutchlow crashed in both practice and qualifying but managed to post a strong time to start from fourth place on Sunday, ahead of nine-time world champion Valentino Rossi.

Jorge Lorenzo

Where to Watch Live

The race starts at 1pm BST, with BBC Two and BBC Two HD providing live coverage in the UK. You can also watch the race online here.


Lorenzo, who won the season-opener inQatar a month ago, dominated proceedings once again in the qualifying sessions on Saturday. The veteran Spaniard clocked a time of 1:38.673 in the QP2 session to place himself ahead of Pedrosa and Marquez.

Pedrosa posted a time of 1:38.920 to come second, while 20-year-old Marquez, who made history two weeks ago by becoming the youngest rider to win a MotoGP race, was third with a time of 1:38.971.

Crutchlow will start on the second row, after finishing fourth ahead of Rossi, Gresini's Alvaro Bautista and Ducati's Nicky Hayden. Also in the top 10 are LCR's Stefan Bradl, Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso and FTR's Hector Barbera.

Lorenzo and Marquez are currently level on 41 points at the top of the standings, while Pedrosa is third with 33. Rossi is fourth on 30 points, with a further six behind Crutchlow.

Lorenzo flanked by Marquez (L) and Pedrosa

Spanish Grand Prix qualification results:

1. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha Factory Racing 1:38.673

2. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Repsol Honda 1:38.920

3. Marc Marquez (Spain) Repsol Honda 1:38.971

4. Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:39.262

5. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha Factory Racing1:39.300

6. Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda Gresini 1:39.509

7. Nicky Hayden (U.S.) Ducati 1:39.654

8. Stefan Bradl (Germany) LCR Honda 1:39.847

9. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 1:39.848

10. Hector Barbera (Spain) FTR 1:39.980