Valentino Rossi
Valentino Rossi is leading the championship leaderboard Getty

Defending champion Marc Marquez has won a race on his homeland only once in 2014 and he will be targeting to win it for the second time during the 2017 Spanish MotoGP. The Honda rider won his first race of the season at the Grand Prix of the Americas in April.

Yamaha rider Valentino Rossi won last year's race and has enjoyed success in Jerez. The Italian rider's former teammate and Ducati rider Jorge Lorenzo has also won on three occasions. The trio of Marquez, Rossi and Lorenzo, along with Yamaha's Maverick Vinales will be fighting to win the race on Sunday.

Where to watch live

The first practice session of the Spanish Grand Prix starts at 8.55am BST, with BT Sport 2 and BT Sports 2 HD providing live coverage in the UK.

Live coverage of the second practice session starts at 1.05pm BST. Real-time internet updates are available on MotoGP's official website. Both FP1 and FP2 can be watched live on and are also available on BT Sport's official app.

Track facts

  • Circuit Name: Circuito de Jerez
  • First MotoGP Race: 1987
  • Circuit Length: 4.4km
  • Race Distance: 115.8km
  • No of Laps: 27
  • Most Wins: Valentino Rossi (7)
  • 2016 Winner: Valentino Rossi (Yamaha)
  • 2016 Pole: Valentino Rossi (Yamaha)

Rider's championship review

Rossi is leading the rider's championship leaderboard with 56 points after three races. His Yamaha teammate, Vinales is six points behind him in the second spot. Yamaha will be hoping their riders can retain the 1-2 combination after the Spanish Grand Prix.

Marquez is sitting third in the table with 38 points, eight points ahead of Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso, who is fourth in the table. LCR rider Cal Cructhlow is fifth in the table with 29 points.