Ravi Bopara and Tim Bresnan have both earned recalls to England's one-day squad for the Natwest Series against New Zealand and June's Champions Trophy.

Bopara missed the tours to India and New Zealand in the winter following a self-imposed exile from international cricket, while Bresnan returns having been absent for much of the 2013 calendar after undergoing elbow surgery in February.

Chris Woakes is included ahead of Stuart Meaker and Graeme Onions as the final pace bowler, while Alex Hales also misses out with England opting for the experienced batting trio of captain Alastair Cook, Jonathan Trott and Ian Bell.

Ravi Bopara
Bopara hasn't played international cricket for six months.

All-rounder Samit Patel is omitted with James Tredwell the deputy to Graeme Swann who returns following surgery. The injured Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen are both confirmed absentees.

England face three one-day internationals against New Zealand from 31 May-5 June before the start of the Champions Trophy on 8 June which sees them take on Australia, Sri Lanka and the Black Caps in the group stage.

National selector Geoff Miller said: "We know that the three-match series against New Zealand will be very challenging and we will need to play some very good cricket if we are to repeat the success we had against them earlier this year and build momentum leading into the ICC Champions Trophy.

"The ICC Champions Trophy provides this England squad with a great opportunity to win a global 50-over event - something we have yet to achieve, and we are excited to be playing on home soil.

"We are fully aware that with the best eight sides in world cricket competing against each other we will need to play a very high standard of cricket over a three-week period to give ourselves a chance of winning the title and are very much looking forward to the challenge."

England's 15-man Natwest Series and Champions Trophy squad

Alastair Cook, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes