Arsenal captain Robin van Persie has been named the Football Writers' Assiociation Player of the Year, adding to his Professional Footballers Association Players' Player of the Year award.

The Dutch forward has scored 34 goals this season for Arsenal and leads the way in the race for the Premier League golden boot having netted 27 times in the top flight.

Van Persie follows in the footsteps of Gunners greats Dennis Bergkamp and Thierry Henry in winning the PFA and FWA awards in the same season, last achieved by Manchester United's Wayne Rooney in 2010.

FWA chairman Steve Bates said: "Robin was the overwhelming choice of our members this season and deservedly so after a magnificent campaign for Arsenal.

"The quality of his goals, attacking movement and consistency in a turbulent season for the Gunners has been eye-catching. The considerable size of his majority in the votes cast by our members reflected the general view that he has been the season's most outstanding individual performer."

Robin van Persie
Van Persie has been a cut above the rest this season.

The United pair of Rooney, who has notched 26 league goals this season, and Paul Scholes, who came out of retirement in January to spearhead the club's title charge, finished second and third respectively.

Fulham midfielder Clint Dempsey, who was omitted from the six-man PFA nominee list, finished fourth in the voting, conducted by 400 of the country's leading football journalists.

After scoring 35 goals in 2011, Van Persie has continued his impressive form into the New Year, helping put Arsenal on the brink of qualification for next season's Champions League.

Amid the former Feyenoord striker's excellent showings this season, the 28 year old's future at The Emirates Stadium is uncertain, with Van Persie yet to sign an extension to his current deal which expires in 2013.

The Netherlands international will receive the award during a gala dinner at Lancaster London Hotel on 3 May .