Mitchell Johnson
Mitchell Johnson took 12 wickets in the first test against South Africa. [Reuters]

South Africa host Australia in the third and final Test match in Cape Town on Sunday to decide the fate of the series.

Where to Watch Live

Play is scheduled to start at 8:30am GMT. Live coverage will be available on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD.


The Proteas have beaten all teams in a home and away series bar Australia and will be looking to set that record straight in the final Test match.

The game is poised brilliantly, but the hosts will be fancying their chances after a brilliant performance in the last Test which kept them in the contest.

Australia started the series well with a 281-run win over the hosts but South Africa bounced back with a 231-victory of their own against an in-form Aussie side riding on the back of a brilliant 5-0 victory over England in the Ashes.

Both teams will be looking to avoid controversy this time around after David Warner accused South Africa of tampering with the ball to enable reverse swing. The batsman was eventually fined 15% of his match fee for making inappropriate comments but tempers soared owing to the incident.

Meanwhile, Australia will be looking to bounce back after the loss and try to use the reverse swing to their advantage than blame South Africa for using unfair means. Mitchell Johnson was nullified by the batsmen in the second Test and the bowler, who has been in magnificent form over the past few months will be looking to set the record straight and prove himself in front of a packed crowd.

Captain Michael Clarke, who has not scored a half century in many months, will be looking to get back into form and help his team overcome their toughest test in 2014.

Form Guide

South Africa

  • Last Five( all competitions, most recent first): W L W D W


  • Last Five(all competitions, most recent first): L W W W W

Team News

South Africa

Probably Line-Up: Graeme Smith (capt), Alviro Petersen, Hashim Amla, Faf Du Plessis, AB De Villiers, Dean Elgar, JP Duminy, Vernon Philander, Rory Kleinveldt, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel.


Probable Line-Up: David Warner, Chris Rogers, Alex Doolan, Michael Clarke (capt), Steven Smith, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Ryan Harris, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon.