Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle produced a devastating innings at the opportune moment for the West Indies. Getty Images

Click Here to follow IBTimes UK's Live Blog between South Africa v West Indies

South Africa take on the West Indies in their opening Group B fixture of the 2015 ICC World Cup at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Friday.

Where to Watch Live

The match starts at 3:30am GMT. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Click here for live streaming link.


South Africa come into this fixture after suffering a defeat at the hands of India during the Group B fixture of the World Cup at the MCG last Sunday. The defending champions scored 307 runs from their 50 overs and in reply, the Proteas crumbled for 177, losing by 130 runs.

South Africa will be without the services of pace bowler Vernon Philander due to a grade 1 hamstring injury. The South Africans are without a direct replacement for him leaving Wayne Parnell and Kyle Abbott in contention for the spot.

Rohit Sharma
South Africa's Dale Steyn (C) and team captain AB de Villiers (R) celebrate the run-out of India's batsman Rohit Sharma. [Getty]

The West Indies come into this fixture after sealing a 73-run victory (D/L method) over Zimbabwe. Chris Gayle scored the first double century in a World Cup off 137 balls, the fastest double hundred in a one-day international.

Gayle's heroics helped the Caribbean side to pile up 372 runs. In return, Zimbabwe managed only 289 runs. South Africa will be looking to bounce back with a win against the West Indies, while Jason Holder's men will be keen on their third consecutive win of the tournament.


South Africa to win

Betting Odds (

  • South Africa to win: 3/10
  • West Indies to win: 5/2

Team News

South Africa

Possible XI: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (c), JP Duminy, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Kyle Abbott, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir

West Indies

Possible XI: Dwayne Smith, Chris Gayle, Jonathan Carter, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Lendl Simmons, Darren Sammy, Andre Russell, Jason Holder (c), Jerome Taylor, Sulieman Benn