Juan Mata and David de Gea have both been included in Spain's preliminary Olympic Games squad for the London 2012 football competition.

After successfully defending their European Championship title, adding to their World Cup success in 2010, Spain are looking for a third consecutive major title.

Chelsea pair Oriol Romeu and Mata, who scored Spain's fourth against Italy in the Euro 2012 final, have got the nod while Manchester United goalkeeper De Gea is also included after missing out on Vicente Del Bosque's final squad for the summer finals.

Juan Mata
Mata is set to feature in Euro 2012 and the Olympics Reuters

Barcelona trio Martin Montoya, Thiago Alcantara and Cristian Tello are also included, as is Athletic Bilbao quartet Javi Martinez, Mikel San Jose, Ander Herrera and Iker Muniain.

Athletico Madrid's Adrian Lopez is the third overage player to be included, alongside Mata and Martinez.

Current Valencia full-back Jordi Alba, who is set to join Barcelona this summer, has also made the cut after netting in the final against Italy, despite playing every minute of Spain's victorious campaign in Poland and Ukraine.

"I believe it would be unfair to demand that this team be at the same level as the full national team," said coach Luiz Milla.

"This team has character and a similar playing philosophy but it is a different team under different pressures."

As well as being the two-time European Champions and World Cup holders, Spain are also the Under-21 European Champions having claimed their third title in Denmark in 2011, which confirmed their qualification for the Olympic competition.

Spain will face Japan at Hampden Park on 26 July, Honduras at St James' Park on 29 July and Morocco on 1 August at Old Trafford in their three group matches.

Spain preliminary Olympic squad:

Goalkeepers: De Gea (Manchester United), Robles (Atletico Madrid), Marino (Villarreal)

Defenders: Azpilicueta (Marseille), Alba (Valencia), Martinez (Athletic Bilbao), Dominguez (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Montoya (Barcelona), Botia (Sporting Gijon), San Jose (Athletic Bilbao), Martinez (Real Sociedad)

Midfielders: Thiago (Barcelona), Herrera (Athletic Bilbao), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Romeu (Chelsea), Isco (Malaga), Mata (Chelsea), Muniain (Athletic Bilbao)

Forwards: Adrian (Atletico Madrid), Vasquez (Espanyol), Tello (Barcelona), Rodrigo (Benfica)