Novak Djokovic
Novak Djokovic has struggled with a shoulder injury in the run-up to the 2011 U.S. Open. REUTERS

The 2011 U.S. Open got underway on Monday 29 August and runs until Sunday 11 September.

World number one Novak Djokovic was named on Wednesday as the top seed for the 29 Aug.- 11 Sept tournament.

Djokovic, the reigning Australian Open and Wimbledon champion, is vying for his first U.S. Open title and is the No.1 seed at the tournament for the first time.

The Serb, who has lost just twice all season, is followed by No.2 Rafael Nadal, the defending champion; No.3 Roger Federer; and No.4 Andy Murray.

The 2009 champion, Argentina's Juan Martin Del Potro, was seeded 18th, while American Andy Roddick was listed 21st. Mardy Fish will be the highest-seeded American at No.8.

Where to watch live coverage

Eurosport is the exclusive European broadcaster for this year's tournament, reaching 59 channels in Europe and televising coverage in 20 different languages. A full schedule is available on the company's Web site.

In the UK, Sky Sports will once again broadcast coverage from the tournament, with full match highlights also available on the corporation's Web site.

In the U.S., CBS Sports will present its 44th consecutive year of US Open coverage, with more than 37 hours of scheduled programming for this year's event, including the Women's Singles Final on Saturday, 10 September and the Men's Singles Final on Sunday 11 September.

ESPN will present cable coverage of the tournament for the third year in a row, with nearly 100 hours of live action, including weekday afternoon coverage and exclusive weekday broadcasts. Further highlights and analysis will be made available on the company's Web site.

In addition, the Tennis Channel will broadcast the more than 250 hours of the action, including over 70 hours of live coverage, along with daily preview and highlight shows.

In Japan, WOWOW remains Japan's premier satellite broadcaster and holds the exclusive US Open television rights in Japan.

Tournament Schedule and Draw


Men's singles

1. Novak Djokovic (SRB), 2. Rafael Nadal (ESP), 3. Roger Federer (SUI), 4. Andy Murray (GBR), 5. David Ferrer (ESP), 6. Robin Soderling (SWE), 7. Gael Monfils (FRA), 8. Mardy Fish (USA), 9. Tomas Berdych (CZE), 10. Nicolas Almagro (ESP), 11. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA), 12. Gilles Simon (FRA), 13. Richard Gasquet (FRA), 14. Stanislas Wawrinka (SUI), 15. Viktor Troicki (SRB), 16. Mikhail Youzhny (RUS), 17. Jurgen Melzer (AUT), 18. Juan Martin Del Potro (ARG), 19. Fernando Verdasco (ESP), 20. Janko Tipsarevic (SRB), 21. Andy Roddick (USA), 22. Alexandr Dolgopolov (UKR), 23. Radek Stepanek (CZE), 24. Juan Ignacio Chela (ARG), 25. Feliciano Lopez (ESP), 26. Florian Mayer (GER), 27. Marin Cilic (CRO), 28. John Isner (USA), 29. Michael Llodra (FRA), 30. Ivan Ljubicic (CRO), 31. Marcel Granollers (ESP), 32. Ivan Dodig (CRO)

Women's singles

1. Caroline Wozniacki (DEN), 2. Vera Zvonareva (RUS), 3. Maria Sharapova (RUS), 4. Victoria Azarenka (BLR), 5. Petra Kvitova (CZE), 6. Li Na (CHN), 7. Francesca Schiavone (ITA), 8. Marion Bartoli (FRA), 9. Samantha Stosur (AUS), 10. Andrea Petkovic (GER), 11. Jelena Jankovic (SRB), 12. Agnieszka Radwanska (POL), 13. Peng Shuai (CHN), 14. Dominika Cibulkova (SVK), 15. Svetlana Kuznetsova (RUS), 16. Ana Ivanovic (SRB), 17. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (RUS), 18. Roberta Vinci (ITA), 19. Julia Goerges (GER), 20. Yanina Wickmayer (BEL), 21. Daniela Hantuchova (SVK), 22. Sabine Lisicki (GER), 23. Shahar Peer (ISR), 24. Nadia Petrova (RUS), 25. Maria Kirilenko (RUS), 26. Flavia Pennetta (ITA), 27. Lucie Safarova (CZE), 28. Serena Williams (USA), 29. Jarmila Gajdosova (AUS), 30. Anabel Medina Garrigues (ESP), 31. Kaia Kanepi (EST), 32. Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez (ESP).

A full run-down of the draw is available here