marlon samuels
Marlon Samuels is the highest-run scorer of the ongoing Tri Nation series Getty

West Indies take on South Africa in the final group match of the tri-nation series at Kensington Oval, Barbados on 24 June (Friday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 6pm BST/10.30pm IST. Live coverage of the game is available on Sky Sports 3 and Sky Sports 3 HD in the UK. Click here for the live streaming link.


Hosts West Indies have surprised experts and fans with their impressive performances on the field. They come into the final group game of the tri-nation series on the back of a six-wicket loss against Australia on 21 June, knowing that it is a must win game. Despite the loss, there were some positives to take out of the game, in particular the 125-run knock played by Marlon Samuels who also won his second consecutive player of the match award in the series.

Wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin supported Samuels well and the duo putting on 192-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Ramdin himself scored 91 runs which helped take the Caribbean side to 282 runs, which in hindsight was 15-20 runs short.

Shannon Gabriel impressed on debut, consistently clocking 150km while bowling but the lack of form shown by the spinners Sunil Narine and Suliemann Benn will be of concern to coach Phil Simmons. Skipper Jason Holder is a doubt for the game after he injured his hamstring on Tuesday, which could mean that Jonathan Carter comes in his place.

South Africa too come into this clash knowing that they need to win to qualify for the finals and were perhaps unlucky that their last game against Australia on 19 June was rained off. The team management had brought in Morne Morkel for spinner Tabraiz Shamsi and it looks likely that the same XI that was named on Sunday will play.


South Africa to win

Betting odds (betfair)

  • West Indies to win: 17/10
  • South Africa to win: 4/9

Team news

West Indies

Possible XI: Andre Fletcher, Johnson Charles, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin (WK), Kieron Pollad (C), Craig Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sunil Narine, Shannon Gabriel, Suliemann Benn.

South Africa

Possible XI: Quinton de Kock (WK), Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (C), JP Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir