Charlotte Edwards
England women's captain Edwards becomes the second female to claim the award.

England opener Joe Root, women's captain Charlotte Edwards, Indian batsman Shikar Dhawan and Australian duo Chris Rogers and Ryan Harris have been named the five Wisden Cricketers of the Year.

The award is given to those who excelled during the last English cricketing summer and can only be included on the list once in their career.

Edwards led England's women to an Ashes series win over Australia and becomes the second female to be named on the list after Claire Taylor in 2009.

The 34 year old said: "Since I was a child I've looked at the Wisden - my dad always had it every year. To be in the 2014 edition is a very proud moment for me.

"I'm honoured to think I'm in an illustrious list of players from the past."

Yorkshire batsman Root scored 339 runs as England retained the Ashes last summer, including a score of 180 in the second test at Lord's in the infancy of his international career.

Dhawan was the highest run scorer as he led India to victory in the Champions Trophy with two centuries amid an average of 90.75 with the bat.

Despite being defeated in the Ashes, opener Rogers and seamer Harris have been included on the list. Rogers returned after five years out of international cricket to finish the series as Australia's third highest run scorer while Harris was the second most successful bowler with 24 wickets.

South Africa's Dale Steyn has meanwhile been named the Wisden Leading Cricketer of the Year for 2013.