Justin Ontong
Justin Ontong Getty

Cape Cobras will take on Northern Knights in the 2014 Champions League T20 Group B clash at the Chhattisgarh International Cricket Stadium, Raipur on Friday.

Where to Watch Live

The match starts at 3:30pm BST. Live coverage is on British Eurosport 2 and British Eurosport 2 HD. Follow live updates of the match on ESPN Cricinfo. Click here for the live streaming link.


The Cobras made it to the Champions League T20 after making it to the finals of South Africa's domestic T20 competition Ram Slam T20 Challenge earlier this year. Justin Ontong's side lost the finals to the Dolphins, who have also sealed a place in the ongoing tournament.

Cape Cobras reached the last four of the Champions League T20 in 2009, where they lost to Trinidad and Tobago in the semifinal. It was the South African side's best performance in CL T20.

Meanwhile, the Knights made it into the group stages after coming out on top in the qualifying round. The New Zealand-based outfit registered victories over Southern Express, Lahore Lions and defending champions Mumbai Indians.

Jono Boult
Jono Boult Getty

Apart from Northern Knights, the Lions also progressed to the group stages of this year's tournament. The Indian Premier League side and the reigning champions, Mumbai Indians are knocked out of the 2014 Champions League T20.

Mumbai lost Northern Knights in their final game a victory could have seen share equal points with Lahore Lions and the team with the better Net Run Rate would have progressed to the next round.

For the Cobras, it is their first fixture of the tournament and they would be hoping to clinch four points in their opening match. On the other hand, the Knights are in fine form after winning all three qualifying matches.

Betting Odds (888Sport.com)

  • Cape Cobras to win: 42/41
  • Northern Knights to win: 4/5

Team News

Cape Cobras

Possible XI: Amla, Levi, Ontong (c), Kemp, Van Zyl, Vilas (wk), Philander, Peterson, Kleinveldt, Langedveldt, Mgijima

Northern Districts

Possible XI: Williamson, Devcich, Flynn (c), Watling (wk), Harris, Mitchell, Styris, Kuggeleijn, Boult, Southee, Sodhi