England open their ICC Champions Trophy campaign at Edgbaston, against old foes Australia on Saturday 8 June. The two teams are in Group A, with New Zealand and Sri Lanka for company. This will be the first match from this group; South Africa, India, West Indies and Pakistan have already played one round of matches each from Group B.

Joe Root - Jonathan Trott

Where to Watch Live

Play starts at 10.30am BST. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 1 and Sky Sports 1 HD. Follow the match live, via text updates, on ESPN Cricinfo.


England beat New Zealand by 34 runs in their last One Day International (ODI). The match was the third of a three-match series; Alastair Cook's men's win did nothing to change the outcome of that series for the Kiwis had already won the first two.

Cook was dismissed for a duck but Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott, Joe Root and Eoin Morgan managed reasonable scores with the bat. A whirlwind 47 off 16 balls by Jos Buttler pushed England to 287 in their innings.

The visitors made England sweat for their win. Ross Taylor top scored with 71 but the star of the first two ODIs - Martin Guptill - was the big wicket. The New Zealand opener followed his unbeaten 103 at Lord's with a magnificent and destructive 189 off 155 balls at Southampton but could only manage 38 at Trent Bridge.

Cook may not be particularly delighted with his own ODI batting form at the moment (he hasn't scored a century since the 112 against West Indies in June last year) but his bowlers continue to get the job done. Steven Finn, Stuart Broad, Tim Bresnan and James Tredwell were all among the wickets, even if Finn and Broad were a touch too expensive.

Shane Watson

Meanwhile, Australia enter this game after a crushing 243-run defeat to India in a warm-up game. George Bailey led the team against the ODI world champions, in the absence of Michael Clarke. Clarke will miss this game as well.

The Indians' top order was removed without any problem, with Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dawan, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Suresh Raina dismissed for a total of 55. But a superb sixth wicket stand of 211 between MS Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik boosted India to 308.

The Australian batsmen were then comprehensively routed, with Umesh Yadav the star. The right-hand fast-medium bowler picked up 5/18 from only five overs and was backed by Ishant Sharma's 3/11 from five overs. Adam Voges top scored with 23 runs and Phil Hughes was the only other player to reach a two-figure score; he made 14.

Team Form


  • Last Five (most recent first): W L L W W
  • Last Result: England beat New Zealand by 34 runs


  • Last Five (most recent first): L W W W W
  • Last Result: India beat Australia by 243 runs

Team News

England may make a few changes. Graeme Swann will be introduced, possibly in place of James Tredwell. James Anderson will come in as well, with Finn a likley drop.

Probable Line-Up: Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Jonathan Trott, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler, Stuart Broad, Tim Bresnan, James Anderson, Graeme Swann

Shane Watson could open the batting in the absence of Clarke, with David Warner for company. Mitchell Johnson and James Faulkner will be key with the ball, in what is a relatively weak and unproven batting line-up.

Probable Line-Up: David Warner, Shane Watson, Phil Hughes, Adam Voges, George Bailey, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Johnson, James Faulkner, Clint McKay