Yamaha rider Valentino Rossi (L) chases Honda's Marc Marquez (R) during the 2015 MotoGP Malaysian Grand Prix Getty

Valentino Rossi will start the 2015 Valencia Grand Prix from the back of the grid as the Yamaha rider was awarded three penalty points for kicking Honda rider, Marc Marquez, during the Malaysian Grand Prix.

Marquez's teammate Dani Pedrosa, who took pole, won the race while championship contender and Yamaha rider Jorge Lorenzo finished second. Rossi and Marquez were fighting for third spot, and were passing and re-passing each other on several occasions.

However, the championship leader kicked Marquez on turn 14 of lap seven, which saw the Spaniard crash out of the race. The incident was reviewed and Race Direction charged the Yamaha rider. He will start the final race of the season from the back of the grid.

"Race Direction reviewed the incident after the race and awarded Rossi three penalty points and he will be forced to start the final race of the season from the back of the grid," a report said on MotoGP's official website.

Rossi finished third in the Malaysian Grand Prix and said after the race that the defending champion was racing only to cause "problems" for the Italian rider. He said, as quoted by BBC: "Marquez rode only to cause me problems."

"Unfortunately, I lose a lot of time with Marc. And in turn 14, I tried to go a bit wide to take a better line and make him slow. He came to me and I think he crashed in that moment."

The situation helped Lorenzo and has put him in a firm position to beat Rossi for the MotoGP Championship in the final race of the season. As it stands, the gap between the pair has been reduced to seven points, with Rossi still leading the leader board with 312 points. Lorenzo is on second spot.

MotoGP Standings after 2015 Malaysian Grand Prix:

1. Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) 312

2. Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) 305

3. Marc Marquez (Honda) 222

4. Dani Pedrosa (Honda) 190

5. Andrea Iannone (Ducati) 188

6. Bradley Smith (Tech 3) 171

7. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) 153

8. Cal Crutchlow (LCR) 118

9. Danilo Petrucci (Pramac) 107

10. Pol Espargaro (Tech 3) 103