Muhammadu Buhari
Nigeria's president, Muhammadu Buhari, nominated cabinet members earlier in October  Reuters

A new cabinet has been announced in Nigeria as 36 ministers were sworn in before President Muhammadu Buhari during an official ceremony at the presidential villa in the federal capital of Abuja. The ministers were nominated by Buhari in October, nearly six months after the new leader took office following his presidential election victory.

The leader said he wanted to make sure the nominated people would not misuse the country's resources as, he alleged, billions of dollars worth of funds had been stolen during previous administrations.

Buhari appointed himself the country's oil minister and nominated the new head of the state-owned Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, as junior minister of petroleum resources.

Here is a full list of cabinet ministers and their portfolios:

Nigeria up close: Check out our Flipboard magazine