ONE Championship will host major events in China and Vietnam as part of its blockbuster schedule in 2017. ONE, Asia's largest sports media property, brought the curtains down on a huge 2016 with their final card of the year in Manila on Friday (2 December).

Next year, the Singapore-based group will embark on their most ambitious year to date, with 18 events planned across eight countries.

That includes five events in China, regarded as an untapped market in the world of MMA. A first trip to Vietnam is also in place for October.

Victor Cui, CEO of ONE Championship, said: "2016 has been a phenomenal year for ONE Championship. It was absolutely historic for the promotion and 2017 promises to be even better.

"With the addition of key senior leaders to aid ONE with our growth plans, the promotion is in an unbelievable position to make some major waves in the global MMA industry. Together we aim to deliver fans a continuously unique experience that they will never forget."

Speaking to IBTimes UK earlier this year, ONE chairman Chatri Sityodtong explained his vision of having homegrown MMA stars selling out venues all across Asia.

"Asia is the home of martial arts and has been for 5,000 years," Sityodtong said. "There are home-grown martial arts in every single country in Asia. Now, every weekend, I want every Asian to watch their superheroes on television and be rooting for them."

ONE Championship 2017 Schedule

Jakarta, Indonesia

Jakarta Convention Center

Saturday 14 January

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Stadium Negara

Friday 10 February

Bangkok, Thailand

Impact Arena

Saturday 11 March

Manila, Philippines

Mall of Asia Arena

Friday 21 April

Singapore

Singapore Indoor Stadium

Friday 26 May

Beijing, China

Le Sports Center

Friday 30 June

Yangon, Myanmar

Thuwunna Indoor Stadium

Friday 14 July

Macau, China

Cotai Arena

Saturday 12 August

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Stadium Negara

Friday 18 August

Jakarta, Indonesia

Jakarta Convention Center

Saturday 16 September

Shenzhen, China

Bao An Stadium

Saturday 21 October

Da Nang, Vietnam

Tien Son Sport Center

Friday, October 27

Yangon, Myanmar

Thuwunna Indoor Stadium

Friday 3 November

Manila, Philippines

Mall of Asia Arena

Friday 10 November

Singapore

Singapore Indoor Stadium

Friday 24 November

Beijing, China

Le Sports Center

Saturday 2 December

Bangkok, Thailand

Impact Arena

Saturday 9 December

Shanghai, China

Mercedes Benz Center

Tuesday 12 December