The 2013 Tour de France is the 100th edition of the bicycle race, consisting of 21 stages. The race organiser, Amaury Sport Organisation will kick start the event in Corsica on 29 June and will end in Paris on 21 July.

Chris Froome, Bradley Wiggins and Team Sky dominated the 2012 Tour de France. However, Wiggnis is ruled out of this year's race due to knee injury while Froome is believed to be the favourites to win the 2013 edition of the race.

Chris Froome

Where to Watch Live

Live coverage of the race will be available on ITV 4. Catch the highlight of the race on ITV 4 at 7pm BST between 29 June and 21 July.


The 100th edition of the race consists of 21 stages which will cover a total distance of 3404 km. This includes seven flat stages, five hilly stages, six mountain stages with four summit finishes, two individual time trial stages, one team time trial stage and two rest days in.

The 2013 Tour de France will start in Corsica and it is for the first time the city has organised the race in the history of the event. The current edition of the race will be within France and does not include any foreign countries, which was last followed in 2003.

The fourth stage of the race will be held in Nice on 2 July will have a 25km Team Trial Challenge, a concept which was last implemented in 2011. The most crucial part of the race will be during the 18 stage, the Alpe-d'Huez, which will be covered in two stages.

Alberto Contador

Froome of Team Sky and Alberto Contador of Saxo-Tinkoff are likely to go head-to-head for the yellow jersey. The Spaniard could give tough competition to the Team Sky rider. In addition to this, the duo are likely to face challenge from Joaquim Rodríguez of Katusha, Richie Porte of Team Sky, Thibaut Pinot of FDJ and Tejay van Garderen of BMC racing.

Top Contenders for Yellow Jersey

  • Chris Froome (Team Sky)
  • Alberto Contador (Saxo-Tinkoff)
  • Joaquim Rodríguez (Katusha)
  • Richie Porte (Team Sky)
  • Thibaut Pinot (FDJ)
  • Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing)