Nico Rosberg
Nico Rosberg is favourite to win his maiden F1 title at the 2016 season ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Getty

The F1 juggernaut arrives at the Yas Marina circuit for the final race of the season with all attention on the Drivers' Championship battle between Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton. The German leads his teammate by 12 points and can win his maiden title with a podium finish on race day.

Hamilton has to win the race to have any chance of winning the title, unless Rosberg fails to finish the race; then, the Briton can finish in the top three and clinch his fourth Drivers' Championship title. The Mercedes cars will be the favourite to dominate coming into the final race owing to the long straights which are part of the Yas Marina Circuit.

The Mercedes F1 team hierarchy have stressed that their main concern is reliability. Every detail is being checked to make sure that both cars cross the finish line on Sunday. Red Bull Racing and Ferrari will surely be keen to join the party and cause some tension in the championship battle.

The former will want to win their third race of the season, while the Italian team will be keen to end what has been a difficult season on a high. Red Bull have sewed up the second place in the Contructors' championship, but there is a battle on for the fourth place in the Drivers championship between Sebastian Vettel, Max Verstappen and Kimi Raikonnen.

The weather is expected to be clear and it will all depend on the performances of the cars and for the first time they will be using the ultra-soft compound at the Yas Marina Circuit.

Where to watch live

The first practice session (FP1) of the Grand Prix starts at 9am GMT on 25 November, with Sky Sports F1 and Sky Sports F1 HD providing live coverage in the UK.

Real-time internet updates are available on the Live Timing section of the sport's official website. Live coverage of the second practice session (FP2) starts at 1pm GMT.

Track Facts

  • Circuit name: Yas Marina Circuit
  • First F1 Race: 2009
  • Circuit length: 5.554km
  • Number of laps: 55
  • Race distance: 305.355km
  • Lap record: 1.40.279 (Vettel – 2009)
  • Most wins: Vettel (3)
  • 2015 winner: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
  • 2015 pole: Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

Drivers' Championship review

Rosberg leads Hamilton by 12 points going into the final race of the season. A podium finish will hand the German driver his maiden F1 title.