Australia take on New Zealand in the second game of the three match One Day International (ODI) series at the Manuka Oval on 6 December (Tuesday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 3.20am GMT. Live coverage of the game is available on BT Sport Europe.


Steve Smith came into the One Day International (ODI) series against New Zealand with question marks arising about his form with the bat and he answered his critics in the best possible way, leading from the front to help Australia beat the Kiwis by 68 runs.

Smith scored 164 off just 157 balls in a knock laden with 14 fours and four huge sixes, his seventh in ODI's and along with Travis Head who scored 52, helped Australia post 324 runs off their 50 overs in Hamilton on Sunday. Chasing 325 to win New Zealand could not keep pace with the run rate and the bowlers led by the returning Josh Hazelwood bowled out New Zealand for 256, 68 runs short of the target.

Other then Smith, the team management would be chuffed by the performance of Head and the bowlers all of whom took wickets at regular intervals. Coach Darren Lehmann will not want to change a winning combination which means all-rounder Glenn Maxwell will find himself on the bench for the second game running.

Their opponents on the day, New Zealand had no answers to Steve Smith with the ball with all of their bowlers going for runs on a pitch that did not assist their seam bowlers. In fact, only opener Martin Guptill showed some fight, his 114 runs off 102 balls was his first century against Australia in 40 attempts and while he was there at the crease it looked like the Kiwis had a chance of pulling an upset.

Barring Guptill and to an extent Colin Munro who scored 49, none of the Kiwi players had a good game, extra pressure will now fall on skipper Kane Williamson and the senior players to get going and pull up their socks in what is a must win game.

Key pacer Tim Southee who was rested for the last game might come into the squad in place of Colin de Grandhomme with the Kiwis expected to stick with the same team that played on Sunday.


Australia to win

Team news


Playing XI: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith (c), George Bailey, Mitchell Marsh, Travis Head, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazelwood.

New Zealand

Playing XI: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (c), James Neesham, BJ Watling (wk), Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.