Brendon McCullum
Otago Volts' captain Brendon McCullum is in fine form (

Australia's Perth Scorchers take on high-flying New Zealand side Otago Volts at Jaipur in the 2013 Champions League T20 on Wednesday, after both teams' respective tournament openers were washed out due to heavy rain.

Where to Watch Live

Play starts at 11:30am BST, with British Eurosport providing live coverage in the UK.


Perth's opening match in Group A against the Highveld Lions at Ahmedabad was abandoned after toss, due to heavy showers. Otago's fixture against IPL champions Mumbai Indians was also washed out and both teams now have two points on the board. The Scorchers qualified for this tournament after finishing the 2012-13 Big Bash as runners-up, behind Brisbane Heat. They have a very experienced side, with the likes of Simon Katich and Brad Hogg in their ranks.

Otago, on the other hand, are on a roll. They beat all three of their opponents in the qualifiers, including a strong Sunrisers Hyderabad side in the last game. The Volts have now won 13 matches in a row [before the washout] and will be keen on extending that streak as they enter the group-stage games. Captain Brendon McCullum is their talisman and is in great from, with scores of 83 not out against Faisalabad Wolves and 67 not out against Sunrisers in the qualifiers. The bowlers have also impressed so far, with Ian Butler leading the pace attack well in the first two matches.

What Players Say

Scorchers' Simon Katich: "This tournament is about grabbing the opportunity. It might never come around again. We have to have an eye on the future as much as this just being about today."

Volts' Ryan ten Doeschate: "The four teams in our pool are tough, but we don't feel like underdogs. We feel we are good enough to match these teams; whether that means winning or not is a different story."

Teams (from)

Perth: Simon Katich (c), Ashton Agar, Michael Beer, Jason Behrendorff, Hilton Cartwright, Burt Cockley, Liam Davis, Brad Hogg, Joe Mennie, Marcus North, Joel Paris, Tom Triffitt (wk), Ashton Turner, Adam Voges, Sam Whiteman

Otago: Brendon McCullum (c), Nicholas Beard, Michael Bracewell, Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Mark Craig, Derek de Boorder (wk), Jacob Duffy, James McMillan, James Neesham, Aaron Redmond, Hamish Rutherford, Ryan ten Doeschate, Neil Wagner