Robert Lewandowski
Lewandowski netted the opening goal of Euro 2012 against Greece.

Group A leaders Russia take on co-hosts Poland as they aim to build on an impressive opening day win over Czech Republic. Dick Advocaat's team won 4-1 on Friday to top the group, while Franciszek Smuda's Poland were held by Greece for a 1-1 draw in the tournament opener.

Team news: Poland will be without their first-choice goalkeeper Wojciech Szczesny, who was sent off in the opener against Greece on Friday for bringing down Dimitris Salpingidis inside the box. So stand-in keeper Przemyslaw Tyton will start against Russia after saving the penalty that Szczesny conceded against the Greeks to earn his team a vital point. Apart from the Arsenal goalkeeper, Smuda has a full squad to choose from and is expected to field the same starting line-up he deployed on Friday.

Russia have the full 23-man squad available and are unlikely to make any changes to the squad that outplayed Czech on Friday. The only question is who will be between the posts? First-choice goalkeeper Igor Akinfeev is back from knee injury that kept him out for a long time but deputy Vyacheslav Malafeev is likely to keep his place after impressing against the Czechs.

Where to Watch Live:

You can follow the game live on ITV 1 and iTV 1 HD, as well as BBC Radio Five and the official UEFA Web site. Catch the highlights on BBC One and the BBC Sport Web site.


  • Poland are still waiting for their first ever win at the Euros.
  • The goal scored by Greece through Dimitris Salpingidis on Friday was the first the Poles conceded in their last five matches.
  • Russia are now unbeaten in their last 15 games and have kept a clean sheet in 10 of them.
  • When both sides last met (August 2007), late goals by Jacek Krzynowek and Jakub Blaszczykowski earned the Poles a 2-2 draw in Moscow.
  • If Russia beat Poland, they will be through to the quarterfinals.

Probable starting line-up

Poland (4-2-3-1): Tyton; Piszczek, Wasilewski, Perquis, Boenisch; Murawski, Polanski; Blaszczykowski, Obraniak, Rybus; Lewandowski

Russia (4-3-3): Malafeev; Anyukov, Ignashevich, Berezutskiy, Zhirkov; Denisov, Shirokov, Zyryanov; Dzagoev, Arshavin, Kerzhakov