Harry Styles
Harry Styles will release his self-titled debut album on 12 May Cooper Neill/Getty Images

Pop hitmaker Harry Styles has finally revealed details of his hugely-anticipated debut solo album. Cementing his temporary departure from One Direction, Styles' self-titled LP is set for release on 12 May.

The Sign Of The Times singer sent fans into a frenzy on 13 April when he tweeted a photo of the tracklist and later the album artwork, which shows Styles crouching down in a pool and baring his dripping wet shirtless back. The eponymously-titled record boasts 10 songs, with song titles including: Meet Me In The Hallway, Carolina, Two Ghosts and Woman. Some on social media are convinced that the track Ever Since New York is written about Styles' ex-girlfriend Taylor Swift, who he dated for a short time in 2012.

Fans will be able to purchase a gatefold vinyl edition of the album or a 'white' version, as well as a limited edition CD with a 32-page hardcover book featuring exclusive photos taken during Styles' recording sessions over the last year. Pre-orders for all versions of the album are available from 14 April. The LP boasts production from the likes of Kid Harpoon, Tyler Johnson, Alex Salibian and Jeff Bhasker, who worked on Sign Of The Times.

Sharing his excitement at the prospect of finally showcasing solo material, Styles previously told BBC Radio 1's Nick Grimshaw of his first album: "It's a bit weird. I feel like I've been hibernating in the studio for so long and you hear it in the safety of the studio and now it's time to give birth."

The 1D star also told radio host Elvis Duran: "I never wanted it to sound like anyone else, I didn't want to feel like I was redoing something. But at the same time I think it's impossible to not be influenced by stuff that you grew up listening to. All I know really is that I wanted to write, through the whole album, I wanted it to be really honest. I didn't want to hide and I just wanted to write what I wanted to listen to."

Until the album arrives, Styles is basking in the positive response to his first single, Sign Of The Times. The power ballad is expected to reach number one on the UK charts after a tense battle with Ed Sheeran, who has spent 13 weeks at the top of the charts with Shape Of You.

Harry Styles album tracklist

1. Meet Me in the Hallway

2. Sign of the Times

3. Carolina

4. Two Ghosts

5. Sweet Creature

6. Only Angel

7. Kiwi

8. Ever Since New York

9. Woman

10. From the Dining Table

Listen to Harry Styles Sign Of The Times: