Jesse Lingard
Lingard was named in England squad last November but could make his debut this week. Getty


  • Glen Johnson also returns to international squad.
  • Adam Lallana and Nathaniel Clyne miss out with injuries.
  • Burnley's Michael Keane also left out despite reports suggesting his inclusion.

Manchester United duo Jesse Lingard and Marcus Rashford have been named in Gareth Southgate's first England squad for World Cup 2018 qualifiers against Malta and Slovenia.

Lingard, 23, will be in line to make his international debut while 18-year-old Rashford returns to the squad after being omitted from Sam Allardyce's first squad in September.

Elsewhere, Stoke City defender Glen Johnson returns to the England fold while Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain is also included.

Adam Lallana and Nathaniel Clyne have been left out of the squad after picking up knocks in Liverpool's victory over Swansea City on Saturday, while Burnley defender Michael Keane also misses out despite suggestions he was in line for a maiden call-up.

West Ham United winger Michail Antonio retains his place in the squad with Tottenham Hotspur trio Kyle Walker, Danny Rose and Eric Dier all also included having recovered from knocks.

Southgate was named interim manager following Allardyce's departure on Tuesday.

England squad for qualifiers against Malta and Slovenia

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster, Joe Hart, Tom Heaton

Defenders: Kyle Walker, John Stones, Chris Smalling, Danny Rose, Glen Johnson, Phil Jagielka, Gary Cahill, Ryan Bertrand

Midfielders: Eric Dier, Jordan Henderson, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Michail Antonio, Jesse Lingard, Raheem Sterling, Dele Alli, Theo Walcott

Forwards: Wayne Rooney, Marcus Rahford, Daniel Sturridge, Jamie Vardy