quinton de kock
Quinton de Kock has scored 11 ODI centuries in just 65 matches for South Africa Getty

South Africa host Australia in the second One Day International (ODI) at New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on 2 October (Sunday). The hosts lead the five-match ODI series 1-0.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9am BST. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 3 and Sky Sports 3 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


South Africa started their five match ODI series against Australia on a perfect note, cruising past their opponents by six wickets on Friday (30 September).

That they cruised to victory was thanks to a superlative knock from keeper-batsman Quinton de Kock, who scored 178 off just 113 balls in a knock that included 16 fours and 11 huge hits over the fence.

The bowlers too played their part in particular Andile Phehlukwayo took four wickets for 44 runs in their 10 overs while Imran Tahir gave him able support. The hosts will not want to change a winning combination but may be forced to make a change with Dale Steyn suffering from discomfort in his shoulder.

The visitors Australia had a day to forget on the field in the first ODI, with their bowlers in particular suffering at the hands of Quinton de Kock. Barring Scott Boland, none of the bowlers could take wickets which will be a concern for the team management ahead of the second ODI.

The batting department looks in good shape with David Warner, Aaron Finch and George Bailey in good form, and it is just a matter of time before skipper Steve Smith too gets on the action.

Despite the loss, Australia will most likely play the same XI that took the field on Friday.


South Africa to win

Betting odds (ladbrokes)

  • South Africa to win: 4/5
  • Australia to win: 1

Team news

South Africa

Possible XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Rilee Rossouw, Faf du Plessis (c), JP Duminy, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada.


Possible XI: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Steve Smith (c), George Bailey, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wk), John Hastings, Adam Zampa, Scott Boland, Daniel Worrall.