South Africa host New Zealand in the second test match at SuperSport Park on 27 August (Saturday). This is the final test in the two-match series.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9am BST. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 3 and Sky Sports 3 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


The two-match series between South Africa and New Zealand has now become a one-match winner takes all after the first Test was washed out due to the weather and also due to concerns regarding the state of the outfield.

In all, 11 out of 15 sessions in Kingsmead were lost due to a wet and soft outfield, and the surface was rated as poor by International Cricket Council (ICC) match referees in their report. The report has been sent to the home board, Cricket South Africa (CSA), who have 14 days to respond.

The action that took place saw the hosts struggle in the batting department once again, being shot out for 263 runs in the first innings. A number of batsmen got starts but could not convert those into bigger scores, which would be a worry for the team management.

However, Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander looked magnificent for 12 overs, getting swing and pace. The Proteas are likely to play the same team that took the field in the first Test, with a number of them, particularly JP Duminy, under pressure to retain his spot in the team.

The Kiwis had a perfect start to the series, bowling the hosts out for 263 runs in the first innings of the first Test on 19 August. While the majority of the bowlers looked good, Trent Boult and Neil Wagner in particular were impressive picking up three wickets each to bowl out the hosts.

Though they did not get too much time in the middle with the bat, it was not all good news for the visitors with Martin Guptill continuing to struggle in Test cricket. The Kiwis too are expected to field the same 11 that played in the first Test.


South Africa to win

Betting Odds (betway)

  • South Africa to win: 5/6
  • Draw: 11/4
  • New Zealand to win:11/4

Team News

South Africa

Possible XI: Stephen Cook, Dean Elgar, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis (c), Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock (wk), Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Dane Piedt.

New Zealand

Possible XI: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling (wk), Mitchell Santner, Doug Bracewell, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult.