Follow live coverage of the 2015/16 Europa League group stage draw here

Europa League draw
Forty eight teams will go into the pot for the main draw of the 2015/16 season Getty

The 2015/16 Uefa Europa League draw will take place at the Grimaldi Forum, Monaco on Friday, 28 August. The draw will include 48 teams challenging for a place in the main draw of this season.

Where to watch live

The draw starts at 1pm BST. Live coverage will be available on British Eurosport 2 and British Eurosport 2 HD. The draw will be streamed live on


In the 2015/16 season of the Europa League, 48 teams will challenge to win the Europe's second tier of the club competition. The winner will automatically seal a place in next season's Champions League.

Sevilla have sealed a promotion to Europe's top club competition by winning the Europa League last term. They defeated Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk in the final earlier in May. Meanwhile, Uefa have changed their format for the 2015/16 season, as all associations will have a maximum of three teams entering the competition and this does not include teams making to the Europa League after losing the Champions League play-off.

In the last campaign, only 12 teams sealed a direct qualification to the group stages. Four more teams have added to the number of teams starting this term. The cup runners-up will no longer be assured a spot in the Europa League, if they have sealed a berth in the Champions League. The spot will be given to the highest placed team in the league eligible for a berth in the Europa League.

The 16 teams who have qualified for the group stages, along with 10 teams who lost the Champions League play-offs and 22 play-off winners of the Europa League will go into the pot on Friday.

No team from the same association will be in the same pot during the draw. The final will be held at St Jakob-Park, Basel on 18 May 2016.

Automatic entrants

  1. Villarreal
  2. Tottenham Hotspur
  3. Liverpool
  4. Schalke
  5. Augsburg
  6. Lokomotiv Moscow
  7. Fiorentina
  8. Napoli
  9. Marseille
  10. Braga
  11. Groningen
  12. Anderlecht
  13. Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk
  14. Sion
  15. Besiktas
  16. Asteras

Champions League play-off losers

  1. Skenderbeu
  2. Sporting
  3. Club Brugge
  4. Celtic
  5. Rapid Wien
  6. AS Monaco
  7. APOEL
  8. Lazio
  9. FC Basel
  10. Partizan

Match Dates

  • Match day one: 17 September
  • Match day two: 1 October
  • Match day three: 22 October
  • Match day four: 5 November
  • Match day five: 26 November
  • Match day six: 10 December