Bangladesh host England in the first of the two-match Test series at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on 20 October (Thursday).

Where to watch live

Match starts at 4.30am BST. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


Bangladesh have looked an improved unit over the past couple of years but this has been reflected only in the shorter formats of the game, while struggling in the longer version. Bangladesh are placed ninth with 57 points in the ICC Test ranking.

The Tigers have not had much exposure to Test cricket in recent times. The last time they played with the red ball was in July 2015. Most of the players do not play first-class cricket at home, instead preferring to take part in the various Twenty20 leagues around the world.

Much depends on senior players Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah and skipper Mushfiqur Rahim. Bangladesh have made six changes to their side bringing in Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, seamer Kamrul Islam Rabbi, keeper Nurul Hasan, seamer Shafiul Islam and off-spinner Shuvagata Hom.

alastair cook
Alastair Cook who has 133 Test caps to his name is all set to overtake Alec Stewart and become England's most capped Test cricketer Getty

Ranked No 4 in the ICC rankings, the Three Lions have a fairly settled squad but have a few worries with key pace bowler James Anderson missing due to shoulder injury.

Another issue is skipper Alastair Cook's opening partner due to Alex Hales withdrawing from the tour. Ben Duckett and Haseeb Hameed are in the fray to open with the team management also toying with the idea of opening with Hameed and slotting Duckett in the middle order.

Cook will overtake Alec Stewart to become England's most capped Test player with 134 matches if he plays.


England to win

Betting Odds (ladbrokes)

  • Bangladesh to win: 6
  • Draw: 2
  • England to win: 4/6

Team News


Squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (c & wk), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Nurul Hassan, Shafiul Islam, Shuvagata Hom.


Squad: Alastair Cook (c), Moeen Ali, Zafar Ansari, Johnny Bairstow (wk), Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Gareth Batty, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Duckett, Steven Finn, Haseeb Hameed, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes.