The Linux Foundation's Hyperledger Project has formally announced that Blythe Masters, CEO of Digital Asset Holdings, will be Chair of its Governing Board, and the project also welcomed ten new member companies into its fold.

The ten new companies joining Hyperledger are: Blockstream, Bloq, eVue Digital Labs, Gem, itBit, Milligan Partners, Montran Labs,, Tequa Creek Holdings and Thomson Reuters.

In addition to Masters as its Chair, newly announced Hyperledger Governing Board members are Charles Cascarilla, CEO, itBit, and and Craig Young, CTO, SWIFT. The Technical Steering Committee Chair isChris Ferris, a distinguished engineer and CTO of open technology at IBM.

Blythe Masters said in a statement: "The Hyperledger Project is gaining traction on a daily basis, displaying how vital this effort is in advancing distributed ledger technology. Uniting the industry to drive this initiative forward is paramount to the success of distributed ledger technology. The Linux Foundation and its members are collaborating on an open source infrastructure that will increase privacy and scalability, among many other benefits."

Chris Ferris of, IBM added: "These member investments demonstrate that blockchain technology continues to grow in importance as the alternative approach to multinational business transactions. By providing a community for members to collaborate and contribute to an open source blockchain solution, we're able to advance the technology collectively and ultimately drive quicker adoption and higher value across industries."

"Blockchain technology is at the bleeding edge of computer science and ushers in a new paradigm of programmable trust," said Dr. Adam Back, president of Blockstream. "We're excited to offer our operational blockchain experience and collaborate with members of the Hyperledger Project to advance new applications of open ledger technology."

The results of the Technical Steering Committee elections for the Hyperledger Project include the following TSC members: Tamás Blummer, Digital Asset Holdings; Mic Bowman, Intel; Richard Brown, R3; Stanislav Liberman, CME Group; Hart Montgomery, Fujitsu; Satoshi Oshima, Hitachi; Stefan Teis, Deutsche Börse; Emmanuel Viale, Accenture; Pardha Vishnumolakala, DTCC; and David Voell, J.P. Morgan.

The Governing Board now consists of the following members: Charles Cascarilla, CEO, itBit; Toshiya Cho, Hitachi; Jerry Cuomo, IBM; Chris Ferris, IBM; Dirk Hohndel, Intel; Todd McDonald, cofounder and COO, R3; Robert Palatnick, DTCC; Kireeti Reddy, CME Group; Stefan Teis, Deutsche Börse; Dave Treat, Accenture; Yoshinobu Sawano, Fujitsu; Santiago Suarez, J.P. Morgan; and Craig Young, CTO, SWIFT.