Chelsea have won the FA Youth Cup for a third successive season, after a 4-2 aggregate victory over Manchester City. Following a 1-1 draw at the Etihad Stadium last week, the Blues took control of the contest in the second leg with Dujon Sterling punishing City, just before half time, following an error from goalkeeper Daniel Grimshaw.

Tammy Abraham put his side ahead early in the second half, before Fikayo Tomori settled it with 15 minutes remaining with a header from Mason Mount's cross. Brahim Diaz pulled one back for City from close range late on, but it did nothing to prevent Chelsea continuing their dominance of youth football in England.

The Blues have now lifted the trophy in five of the last seven seasons, also making the final in 2013 only to lose to Norwich City.

No side has dominated the competition quite like Chelsea have since Manchester United's Busby Babes, who won it five times on the trot between 1953 and 1957. After Wednesday's (27 April) success, the Blues duo of Jake Clarke-Salter and Jay Dasilva join the small fraternity of players to have won the competition three times, alongside the United starlets of the '50s: Sir Bobby Charlton, Duncan Edwards, Wilf McGuinness, Tony Hawksworth and Eddie Colman.

United are the most successful club in the competition's history, having lifted the trophy on 10 occasions. However, Chelsea are catching up, having clinched their seventh trophy win with the victory over City.

Their latest success at youth level follows this month's Uefa Youth League triumph, another competition they have successfully defended after victory over Paris Saint-Germain.