England have won the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup after beating India by nine runs in a dramatic final at Lord's.

India were all out for 219 with Anya Shrubsole taking six wickets to seal a dramatic victory in front of a sell-out crowd at the home of English cricket.

The hosts lost their opening match of the competition to today's opposition just under a month ago but would go on a run of winning every game since then – including a long-overdue win over Australia – to today where they were crowned champions for a fourth time.

All six of Srubsole's wickets came in the final seven of the game as the visitors suffered an almighty collapse from 191-3 to 219 all out in 48.4 overs, sparked when Punam Raut was dismissed for 86.

Natalie Sciver (51) and Sarah Taylor (45) had starred for England as they scored a total of 228-7 but it was Shrubsole's heroics that saw England match their successes on home soil of 1973 and 1993.

Jenny Gunn dropped a simple catch at mid-off that would have sealed the trophy, providing more suspense to an already desperately tense conclusion. But her blushes were spared when Shrubsole bowled Rajeshwari Gayakwad off the very next ball.