League Cup trophy
The draw for the EFL Cup has been made Getty Images

Liverpool will begin their EFL Cup campaign away at Burton Albion. Jurgen Klopp's side, who were defeated on penalties in last year's final by Manchester City, will face the Championship team at the Pirelli Stadium.

Elsewhere, Antonio Conte's new-look Chelsea side will face either Bristol Rovers or Bristol City, while Everton - who are now coached by Ronald Koeman - will host League Two Yeovil. As many as 13 Premier League sides join the re-branded competition at the second round stage, as well as the likes of Newcastle United.

All of the Premier League clubs have been seeded and Watford, Sunderland and Crystal Palace have all been handed home ties against Gillingham, Shrewsbury and Blackpool respectively.

Thereafter, they will be joined by the seven Premier League clubs who have qualified to play European football this season. All ties are to be played the week commencing 22 August.

The EFL Cup, formally known as the Football League Cup, does not have a sponsor this year after Capital One withdrew their financial backing for the competition. It has been renamed the EFL Cup after the Football League was rebranded as the English Football League.