LCR Honda rider Stefan Bradl set a surprise fastest time in the free practice session of the 2013 MotoGP Czech Republic Grand Prix on Friday. The German, who comes into the weekend sixth in the championship standings, demoted Yamaha's defending world champion Jorge Lorenzo into second, by posting a time of 1:56.500 at Brno.

Stefan Bradl
Stefan Bradl (Reuters)

Where to Watch Live

Live coverage of qualifying for the Czech Republic Grand Prix starts at 11.30am BST on BBC Red Button. Real-time internet updates are available on MotoGP's official website.

Friday Free Practice Review

Lorenzo looked set to finish the day on top with his time of 1:56.538 but Bradl produced Friday's best time as the chequered flag came out and deposed the world champion by just 0.038s. The 23-year-old found success on a late run on soft tyres, after enduring disappointing results on hards.

Yamaha dominated the top three in the opening stages but the Hondas gradually caught up. Lorenzo's compatriot, Dani Pedrosa, who won the Czech Republic Grand Prix last season, was third with a time of 1:56.600 and seven-time world champion and Yamaha rider Valentino Rossi posted fourth fastest time.

Championship leader and Honda rider Marc Marquez settled for fifth, with the Spaniard registering a time of 1:56.733. Britain's Cal Crutchlow completed the top six, having been Lorenzo's closest rival in the early stages. His Tech 3 Yamaha team-mate and compatriot Bradley Smith endied up just behind him.

Gresini Honda's Alvaro Bautista and Ducati duo Andrea Dovizioso and Nicky Hayden were also in the top 10 times.

There is a third practice session on Saturday 08:45am, ahead of the qualifiers for Sunday's race.

Free Practice 2 (Top Ten)

  1. Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda) 1:56.500
  2. Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) 1:56.538
  3. Dani Pedrosa (Honda) 1:56.600
  4. Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) 1:56.726
  5. Marc Marquez (Honda) 1:56.733
  6. Cal Crutchlow (Tech3 Yamaha) 1:56.800
  7. Bradley Smith (Tech3 Yamaha) 1:57.351
  8. Alvaro Bautista (Gresini Honda) 1:57.401
  9. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) 1:57.754
  10. Nicky Hayden (Ducati) 1:57.896