World No.1 Rory McIlroy has been named the PGA Tour player of the year for a second time in three years to cap a momentous season.

McIlroy prevailed in the poll of the members of the PGA who had played 15 money events this season, finishing ahead of Billy Horschel, Martin Kaymer, Jimmy Walker and Bubba Watson.

The 25-year-old won three successive titles in 2014 on the PGA Tour at The Open Championship, the WGC Bridgestone Invitational and the US PGA Championship to take his major tally to four.

Despite finishing third in the FedEx Cup, McIlroy inspired Europe to retaining the Ryder Cup by contributing three points from five matches as Paul McGinley's team prevailed by 16 ½ points to 11 ½ over the United States at Gleneagles.

The Northern Irishman wrote on Twitter: "Thanks everyone for all the PGA Tour Player of the Year congrats! Always an honour for your hard work to be recognised by your peers!"