Twelve contenders have been shortlisted for the prestigious 2015 BBC Sports Personality of the Year award. Following the weekend wins by tennis player Andy Murray and boxer Tyson Fury, the shortlisting panel decided to extend the shortlist from the usual 10 to 12 nominees.

The 12 nominated are:

  • athlete Jessica Ennis-Hill;
  • athlete Mo Farah;
  • athlete Greg Rutherford;
  • tennis player Andy Murray;
  • Formula One's Lewis Hamilton;
  • footballer Lucy Bronze;
  • boxer Tyson Fury;
  • cyclists Chris Froome;
  • cyclists Lizzie Armitstead;
  • swimmer Adam Peaty;
  • gymnast Max Whitlock; and
  • rugby league's Kevin Sinfield.

The winner will be announced at the live Sports Personality of the Year show at Belfast's SSE Arena on 20 December. This is the first time the show is being held in Norther Ireland.

Panel chair Barbara Slater, who is also BBC's director of sport, said: "As always, there was a lot of debate and discussion amongst the industry panel when deciding the final list of nominees. The panel was faced with some incredibly tough choices.

"All nominees have achieved exceptional success in their respective fields in the past year and we wish each of them the best of luck, while also looking forward to a great night in Belfast," Slater added.

The show will be presented by Gary Lineker, Clare Balding and Gabby Logan. Singer Ella Henderson will open the show.

In addition to the Sports Personality of the Year trophy, other awards up for grabs include: Team of the Year; Coach of the Year; Overseas Sports Personality of the Year; Young Sports Personality of the Year; Helen Rollason Award; Lifetime Achievement Award and the Unsung Hero award.