The X Factor 2016
The X Factor judging panel: Louis Walsh, Sharon Osbourne, Nicole Scherzinger and Simon Cowell return for a new series in 2017 ITV

Simon Cowell has confirmed the judges line-up for The X Factor 2017. The music mogul has revealed he is retaining last year's judges - Louis Walsh, Nicole Scherzinger and Sharon Osbourne -as the mentors for the ITV talent competition.

Speaking to The Sun, Cowell said: "I don't think for the moment we'd want to make any changes. It worked on X Factor last year and the Britain's Got Talent panel works really well.

"There's always room to come up with new ideas for shows but you've got to look at the whole landscape," he explained, reports Cosmopolitan. "It's a crowded market but there's always room for something new if it's a good idea."

Louis, Sharon and Simon were the first judges on the show when it was launched 13 years ago. Nicole made a welcome return last year and is regarded as one of the most successful mentors.

The brainchild behind the formation of One Direction when they first appeared on the talent show, she has previously led the likes of James Arthur, Jahméne Douglas and last year's winner, Matt Terry, to the final.

The X Factor returns to ITV later in the year.