Canada players celebrate their victory over USA in the semi-finals. [Reuters]

Sweden and Canada face each other in the Men's Ice Hockey Final on the 16th and last day of the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics at the Bolshoy Ice Dome on Sunday.

Where to Watch

Opening face-off is set to begin at 12 noon GMT. Live coverage will be available on BBC Two, BBC Two HD and BBC Red Button 2. Follow the live updates of the game on BBC's official website.


Sweden secured their place in the final of the Men's Ice Hockey competition after defeating Finland 2-1 in the semi-finals. The Finns managed to take the lead in the second period with Olli Jokinen scoring the goal, but the Swedes recovered from the deficit courtesy of goals from Loui Eriksson and Erik Karlsson before the commencement of the third period.

There wasn't much to do for Henrik Lundqvist (Sweden) and Kari Lehtonen (Finland) as both goalkeepers cumulatively had to face only 51 shots from their rival attackers in 60 minutes. The number one team in the world are gunning for their third Olympic gold medal with their last victory achieved during the 2006 Winter Olympics in Turin.

Meanwhile, Canada are brimming with confidence having won all their matches in the ongoing winter Olympics. Mike Babcock's men registered a narrow 1-0 victory against continental rivals USA in the previous round.

Jamie Benn was the only scorer for the Canadians early in the second period on Thursday evening to ensure the defending champions are on track to claim their ninth gold medal in the history of Men's Ice Hockey competition in the Olympics.

Team Form


  • In Sochi 2014 (Last Five, most recent first): W W W W W
  • Last Result: Sweden 2-1 Finland


  • In Sochi 2014 (Last Five, most recent first): W W W W W
  • Last Result: USA 0-1 Canada

Team News

Erik Karlsson
Erik Karlsson expresses his jubilation after scoring the winning goal against Finland in the semi-finals. [Reuters]


Goaltenders: Henrik Lundqvist; Jhonas Enroth

Defenders: Jonathan Ericsson, Niklas Kronwall (+C); Niklas Hjalmarsson, Johnny Oduya; Erik Karlsson, Alexander Edler; Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Forwards: Daniel Alfredsson (+A), Patrik Berglund, Alexander Steen; Nicklas Backstrom, Loui Eriksson, Daniel Sedin; Jakob Silfverberg, Marcus Johansson, Gabriel Landeskog (+A); Gustav Nyquist, Jimmie Ericsson, Carl Hagelin, Marcus Kruger


Goaltenders: Carey Price; Roberto Luongo

Defenders: Duncan Keith, Shea Weber (+A); Marc-Edouard Vlasic, Drew Doughty; Jay Bouwmeester, Alex Pietrangelo; Dan Hamhuis

Forwards: Chris Kunitz, Patrice Bergeron, Sidney Crosby (+C); Ryan Getzlaf, Jamie Benn, Corey Perry; Patrick Marleau, Jonathan Toews (+A), Jeff Carter; Patrick Sharp, John Tavares, Martin St-Louis, Rick Nash